Heads or Tails?

Sheila Murray Bethel, Ph.D.

A recent survey of Fortune 500 companies revealed that one of the most important qualities they look for among those they mark for leadership roles is the ability to make decisions. How are you doing? Do you ever feel like the centipede who was told to put its best foot forward? When you’re having trouble making a decision, try these six preliminary questions.

  1. What is my real objective? Why must I decide?
  2. What is my deadline? When must I decide?
  3. Can I break the decision down into smaller parts?
  4. Will this decision be final? Or can I change my mind later?
  5. What risks are involved? Are they worth it?
  6. What new information do I need before I decide?

Deciding to decide is often the hardest part. These six questions will help clarify your thoughts and actions so you can make the decision and take advantage of all the opportunities that come your way.

Leave a Reply

